Code of Rights

When you use a health or disability service in New Zealand, you have the protection of a Code of Rights. This applies to the services provided by Rātā.


The Code of Health and Disability Services Consumers' Rights provides the following 10 rights: 

Right 1: The right to be treated with respect.

Right 2: The right to freedom from discrimination, coercion, harassment, and exploitation.

Right 3: The right to dignity and independence.

Right 4: The right to services of an appropriate standard.

Right 5: The right to effective communication.

Right 6: The right to be fully informed.

Right 7: The right to make an informed choice and give informed consent.

Right 8: The right to support.

Right 9: Rights in respect of teaching or research.

Right 10: The right to complain.


For more information on The Code visit

In addition the Health Information Privacy Code 1994 applies to agencies within the health sector. For further information visit

Leaflets with further information are available at Rātā - please ask at reception